Took some test shots on the Cinco de Mayo sunset (in preparation for the possibilty of being able to document the 20/21 May Annular Solar Eclipse) and it looks like I caught what spaceweather.com is calling sunspot 1471 (sunspots move left-to-right across the face of the sun) just before the sun dropped below some clouds that were just above the horizon.  Click on image for larger view:

This was just a quick test, hand held at 1/160th of a second.  Lens was the Canon 70-200 mm F4 IS with auto-focus OFF, and a single Kenko Pro 300 1.4X teleconverters and two Kenco MC4 2.0 telconverters on the 5DMll.  Effective focal length is 1120 mm.  Image stablisation ON.  I had stopped down to I think F5.0, but with all those teleconverters it was like F200!  8^)

If we get to shoot the event (and I am hearing chatter that other chasers are looking at this photo op, if there are no chasable storms that day) I will be on the tripod and will hopefully have the imaging technique even further under my belt.  And there will be bigger glass (more on that later)!  Stay tuned…

